Rush Hour

When the washing machine is beeping at you, your name is being called countlessly (muuuummmmmy… You know the tone!) and your baby is a grizzly bear from teething, how do you cope? Hands on or hide?

I feel a little bit of both is required at times! What I consider as “me time” nowadays is a million miles away from what it used to be.

Whether it’s a sneaky pee break with your phone or a little sit down with a brew and a biscuit, I would be completely burnt out if it wasn’t for these tiny moments. They need to be savoured because let’s face it, who knows when the next one will be?

My Sonny’s nap times can go one way or the other at the moment and annoyingly I feel rather lost if it’s a lengthy one. Am I just used to these quick five relaxation periods before all goes bonkers again? I have even power napped for less than 5 minutes before, waking up feeling perfectly refreshed! How is that even possible?  Why does the guilt kick in when I need a little longer to replenish and recharge?  It facinates me to watch mothers at work, like we are all ticking away on low energy and sustenance, how do we just get on with it and carry on?

There comes a time in our house where everyone is at their lowest … The dreaded 5pm! Sonny’s hungry, Luella is tired, I’m most probably both and we’re all waiting for Daddy to come through the door. A fresh face can make the world of difference when you’ve been waist high in Disney and play dough all afternoon.  Poor man has to deal with all of us fighting for his attention, no wonder he hides upstairs for a 5 minute breather too.

But back to us mothers… Come the evening time all there is left of little old me is a shell of sleepiness. Bedtime to me seems blissful and most nights it can’t come early enough!  I’ve made it through another day, and I feel proud.  A little reflection at the end of a crazy day can make you appreciate what you have, learn from your mistakes and focus on what’s important. Do we need to learn to give ourselves just a little more time to reflect and relax? I think no matter how tricky the idea is we could all do with another cup of tea and a digestive. xxx

Leave a comment